19 leaders emerge in new degree programs

The cohort includes 19 institutions:

  • Antioch University
  • Argosy University
  • Brandman University
  • Broward College
  • Capella University
  • Charter Oak State College
  • City University of Seattle
  • DePaul University
  • Excelsior College
  • Lipscomb University
  • Northern Arizona University
  • Salt Lake Community College
  • Southern New Hampshire University
  • The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Texas A&M University-Commerce and South Texas College)
  • The University of Maine at Presque Isle
  • The University of Maryland University College
  • Westminster College

In addition, two systems serving 42 campuses also are participating: Kentucky Community & Technical College System and the University of Wisconsin-Extension.

The C-BEN Steering Committee, comprising higher education innovators from several of these institutions, will guide the work and will periodically issue additional calls for applications.

“We were impressed by applications we reviewed and the overall level of work going on in the field,” said Co-Chairman Schejbal, dean of continuing education, outreach and eLearning at UW-Extension in a press release. “This group believes we can accelerate progress on developing our models and help inform the field of higher education by collectively testing approaches that speed the transition to programs that advance students based on learning instead of ‘seat time.'”

“Priority will be given to addressing significant obstacles that cannot be adequately resolved in isolation,” said Co-Chairman Dodge, vice provost and vice chancellor of institutional assessment and planning at Brandman, a Hispanic-serving institution with campuses in California and Washington State.

Public Agenda, a nonprofit, nonpartisan research and public engagement organization, received a three-year grant from Lumina Foundation to coordinate and manage the network. Southern New Hampshire University received an additional grant to host the network’s regular meetings, which will begin in April in Phoenix. Additional working sessions have been scheduled for July in Washington, D.C., and October in Nashville, Tenn.

"(Required)" indicates required fields